Too much leftover green soup, so…

Pizza Buns

Pizza Buns

I made it into Pizza Buns! (And poppy seed bread, but mostly pizza buns.)

I’ve found that you can put almost anything into bread dough as the liquid and the bread comes out fine.

In this case, I used:

  • 4 cups puréed green soup
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  •  2 Tbsp lemon juice

and heated them to slightly more than lukewarm before adding:

  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1-1/2 tsp. salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 Tbsp instant yeast (Bakipan)

Then I beat/mixed/kneaded in:

  • 4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 cups barley flour
  • about 3 cups more white flour

I let it rise for an hour, made the buns, let them rise again, and baked them for 20 minutes at 400°F. There was still some dough left, so I also experimented with making poppy seed bread.

Poppy Seed Bread

Poppy Seed Bread

This particular soup was a mixture of brocolli rabi, leeks, celery, carrots, potatoes, and red lentils. I’ve used all kinds of puréed soups and bean mixtures in this bread, and it comes out soft and delicious. You can’t taste the vegetables, but it does have a somewhat more interesting flavour than regular bread.

In the recipe, I use any combination of purée and milk to make 5 cups, but I always add olive oil and lemon juice. The dough takes more or less flour depending on how liquid the purée is.

Also, this makes quite a large batch. You can cut the recipe in half if you want less bread.

Looks like supper to me!

Pizza buns, veggies, and nuts.

Pizza buns, veggies, and nuts. Yum.

 

 

Leave a Reply

